Preferred method of contact:

CAP Certified Authorization Professional



Course Number



5 Days

PDF Add to WishList

You Will Learn How To:

  • Prepare for and pass the CAP Exam
  • Define and implement a Risk Management Framework (RMF)
  • Select, tailor and document security controls
  • Prepare for security control assessment
  • Perform ongoing security control assessments

Important Course Information

  • Who Should Attend

    The CAP is ideal for IT, information security and information assurance practitioners and contractors who use the RMF in:

    • The U.S. federal government, such as the U.S. Department of State or the Department of Defense (DoD)
    • The military
    • Civilian roles, such as federal contractors
    • Local governments
    • Private sector organizations
  • Certification Information

    To qualify for the CAP certification, you must have:

    • A minimum of two years cumulative, paid, full-time work experience
    • In one or more of the seven domains of the CAP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK)

    To maintain certification, you must:

    • Earn and post a minimum of 20 (ISC)2 CPE credits per year
    • Comply with (ISC)2's Code of Professional Ethics
  • Earn (ISC)2 CPEs

    As one of only 12 (ISC)2 CPE Submitters, Learning Tree can submit courses on your behalf to (ISC)2 for CPE credit. All educational opportunities offered by Learning Tree as eligible for CPE credits shall be of the highest quality, directly related to at least one (1) domain of information security as recognized by (ISC)2. Contact Learning Tree's Client Solutions Team for information.

    Or you can submit your CPE credits directly to the CPE portal in the Members section of the (ISC)2 website.

Course Outline

  • Risk Management Framework (RMF)
  • Describe the RMF
  • Describe and distinguish between the RMF steps
  • Identify roles and define responsibilities
  • Understand and describe how the RMF process relates to the organizational structure
  • Understand the relationship between the RMF and System Development Life Cycle (SDLC)
  • Understand legal, regulatory and other security requirements
  • Categorization of Information Systems
  • Categorize the system
  • Describe the information system (including the security authorization boundaries)
  • Register the system
  • Selection of Security Controls
  • Identify and document (inheritable) controls
  • Select, tailor and document security controls
  • Develop security control monitoring strategy
  • Review and approve security plan
  • Security Control Implementation
  • Implement selected security controls
  • Document security control implementation
  • Security Control Assessment
  • Prepare for security control assessment
  • Develop security control assessment plan
  • Assess security control effectiveness
  • Develop initial security assessment report (SAR)
  • Review interim SAR and perform initial remediation actions
  • Develop final SAR and optional addendum
  • Information System Authorization
  • Develop plan of action and milestones (POAM) (e.g., resources, schedule, requirements)
  • Assemble security authorization package
  • Determine risk
  • Determine the acceptability of risk
  • Obtain security authorization decision
  • Monitoring of Security Controls
  • Determine security impact of changes to system and environment
  • Perform ongoing security control assessments (e.g., continuous monitoring, internal and external assessments)
  • Conduct ongoing remediation actions (resulting from incidents, vulnerability scans, audits, vendor updates, etc.)
  • Update key documentation (e.g., SP, SAR, POAM)
  • Perform periodic security status reporting
  • Perform ongoing risk determination and acceptance
  • Decommission and remove system
Show complete outline
Show Less

Convenient Ways to Attend This Instructor-Led Course

Hassle-Free Enrolment: No advance payment required to reserve your seat.
Tuition due 30 days after you attend your course.

In the Classroom

Live, Online

Private Team Training

In the Classroom — OR — Live, Online

Tuition — Standard: $4915   Government: $4325

Jan 14 - 18 ( 5 Days)
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM EST
Herndon, VA / Online (AnyWare) Herndon, VA / Online (AnyWare) Reserve Your Seat

Feb 4 - 8 ( 5 Days)
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM EST
New York / Online (AnyWare) New York / Online (AnyWare) Reserve Your Seat

Mar 11 - 15 ( 5 Days)
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM EDT
Herndon, VA / Online (AnyWare) Herndon, VA / Online (AnyWare) Reserve Your Seat

May 13 - 17 ( 5 Days)
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM EDT
New York / Online (AnyWare) New York / Online (AnyWare) Reserve Your Seat

Jul 22 - 26 ( 5 Days)
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM EDT
Rockville, MD / Online (AnyWare) Rockville, MD / Online (AnyWare) Reserve Your Seat

Sep 9 - 13 ( 5 Days)
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM EDT
Herndon, VA / Online (AnyWare) Herndon, VA / Online (AnyWare) Reserve Your Seat

Oct 28 - Nov 1 ( 5 Days)
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM EDT
New York / Online (AnyWare) New York / Online (AnyWare) Reserve Your Seat

Show all dates
Show fewer dates

Guaranteed to Run

When you see the "Guaranteed to Run" icon next to a course event, you can rest assured that your course event — date, time, location — will run. Guaranteed.

Private Team Training

Enroling at least 3 people in this course? Consider bringing this (or any course that can be custom designed) to your preferred location as a private team training.

For details, call 1-888-843-8733 or Click here »

This event has been added to your cart.




In Classroom or





Private Team Training

Contact Us »

Course Tuition Includes:

After-Course Instructor Coaching
When you return to work, you are entitled to schedule a free coaching session with your instructor for help and guidance as you apply your new skills.

Free Course Exam
You can take your Learning Tree course exam on the last day of your course or online any time after class.


Training Hours

Standard Course Hours: 9:00 am – 4:30 pm
*Informal discussion with instructor about your projects or areas of special interest: 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm

- ,

Chat Now

Please Choose a Language

Canada - English

Canada - Français